Tangled

Tangled
4.4 (88%) 5 votes

131120_468491032453_4604070_o

Once upon a time, there was a magical flower that had healing powers.  An evil witch discovered the flower, and she kept it hidden so she could use it to keep herself young.  Then, the queen of a nearby kingdom became gravely ill, and the king sent all his men out to search for the magical healing flower.  To the evil witch’s disappointment, the king’s men found the magical healing flower, and they plucked it from the ground to deliver it to the queen.  The queen drank tea made with the flower, and she became well again.  However, the queen was pregnant, and the magical properties of the flower were transferred to her baby.  The evil witch was not happy about this turn of events, and when she discovered that the baby princess had acquired the magic, she kidnapped the princess.  But the king and queen never give up hope that the lost princess would be returned.  Every year, on the princess’s birthday, the people of the kingdom release hundreds of floating candles into the sky in memory of their missing princess.

Fast forward seventeen years….Rapunzel (Mandy Moore) has been locked in a tower for seventeen long, lonely years.  She spends her time painting, reading, and dreaming, with a cute little chameleon named Pascal as her only friend.  Sure, she gets visits from the evil witch Mother Gothel (Donna Murphy), who tells her all about the scary things out in the world.  Rapunzel is too terrified to even want to leave the safety of her tower!!  But Mother Gothel knows she has to keep Rapunzel in the tower, because she uses her for her own personal fountain of youth.  You see, when they sing a special song, the magic happens, Mother Gothel reverse-ages, and Rapunzel’s hair grows.  Oh yeah, and her hair is about 70 feet long now.

Rapunzel is no damsel in distress though.  When it comes down to it, Rapunzel discovers that a frying pan makes a handy weapon.  When Flynn Rider (Zachary Levi), thief, discovers Rapunzel’s tower while fleeing from castle guards, Rapunzel takes him hostage (she ties him up with her hair!!) and then forces him to help her escape.  Rapunzel has been keeping track, and she knows that in a few days, the floating lights will appear and she wants to see them up close and personal.  Rapunzel has no idea that the floating lights are in memory of the lost princess, who is actually her!!  What happens next is a fun adventure involving some thugs in a pub, a mean horse named Maximus (he was really funny) and a little romance thrown in for good measure (this IS a Disney movie, after all!!).

What I liked:  There was more humor in this movie than a lot of other Disney animated films.  Since this is the 50th animated feature by Walt Disney Pictures, I was glad to see that it still had all the charm and wonder of the first animated feature, “Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs”, and it will leave you with that feel-good, happy feeling.  The visuals were amazing, very rich and colorful.  There were no talking animals in this one, but the chameleon and the horse were very expressive and humorous.  The songs were catchy, and I especially enjoyed hearing Zachary Levi (TV’s Chuck Bartowski) sing.  I thought the main characters reminded me of Aladdin (a thief with no family) and Jasmine (a rebellious princess).  I also noticed a spinning wheel (like the one from “Sleeping Beauty”) up in Rapunzel’s tower.  I’m sure there were more nods to other Disney films that I missed.  Mandy Moore and Zachary Levi were awesome in this movie.

What I didn’t like:  Rapunzel spent the whole movie barefoot.  I would think her feet would be killing her, what with all the running around she was doing.  I’m sure she could have found shoes somewhere (or a pair of scissors?)

Don’t believe when people say this is a rip-off of “Shrek”.  I like the “Shrek” movies, but they are never as good as Disney films.  Disney animated pictures have that certain something that other animated movies lack.  This is a perfect addition to your holiday festivities, add Tangled to your must see list.

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterPin on PinterestShare on LinkedInShare on StumbleUponShare on RedditShare on Google+Email this to someone

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

16 Responses to Tangled

  1. Damon August 24, 2011 at 11:27 pm #

    Tangled was such a cute movie! The best characters were Maximus the horse and Pascal the chameleon. Even though they weren’t main characters, I think they played the great part in any film, the hilarious part. I loved this movie though. It was one of the better movies that Disney has come out with. I just finished watching this movie on DISH Online and it was great. I love DISH Online because it lets me watch all kinds of TV shows and movies whenever I want! As a customer and employee of DISH Network, I have been using DISH Online for a long time and it is great! I encourage anyone and everyone to take a look at dishonline.com to see what I am talking about! It has something for everyone, whether you’re a customer or not!

  2. Gandalf December 24, 2010 at 10:31 am #

    It's cool that there's a barefooter girl as a character in a movie. Barefooters are for now a minority, I think they will be accepted as they gain presence in the media, such as movies, books, TV series, etc.

  3. travis December 19, 2010 at 5:38 am #

    I just saw the movie. It was great and your review summed it up well. I couldn't help but notice the discussion on her being barefoot down here in the comments.

    Well I'll admit I have a partialism for the female foot. Must be a freak right? Nah.. millions and millions of people share this trait (google: foot fetish). We're just in the minority. It also doesn't help the only time you hear about a foot fetish it's in a negative form in the media. Trust me, there are way way worse "normal" perverts out there.

    Anyway, even though it was CG I found the attention to detail outstanding. Especially on her feet. Their faces were superb and really display the level of technology we are at today. Compare this flick with Toy Story (one of the first CGs) and you'll see what I mean. But her feet? Why so much detail. The motions were flawless. The bone structure and shaping floored me. Not because I found them attractive (CG doesn't beat my wife) but because it's one of those things that can be easily overlooked in an animated movie.

    Something tells me at least one of the animators had A LOT of fun designing her sexy paws.

    Travis

  4. Rick Swift December 9, 2010 at 2:56 pm #

    Dear BAREFOOTERS – Rapunzel is NOT real, it was a slight observation, and to anyone who lives their whole life barefoot, unless you work in a vineyard, ala Lucy, you probably have to wear shoes SOMEWHERE – "No shirt, no shoes, no service". As for the odor thing, I will have to defer to your expertise . . . I tend to spend the majority of my days AVOIDING smelling people's feet, but, hey, that's me.

    As always, we love your comments, keep them coming, I think I need to add socks to our iRATEfilms store, that's a compromise, right?

    • H-Man December 9, 2010 at 3:24 pm #

      Sandals, Rick. Sandals are the only compromise.

  5. Barefoot Justine December 9, 2010 at 2:03 pm #

    No… her feet would not be sore… people who go barefoot as a lifestyle choice are not dirty, in fact, their feet never smell because they are not locked up in bacteria incubators (shoes)… and their feet do NOT get sore, because the human foot was designed to be bare, forcing them into little leather prisons makes them soft, vulnerable, and stinky. And, her easy and capable barefooting is what I LOVED about the movie. People who go barefoot develop hard thick (but still supple and pretty) soles.

    Lastly, why wouldn't she go barefoot? Being barefoot opens a person up to a world of sensations, to me, I wouldn't wear shoes anymore than I would run around with earplugs all day or a blindfold on in case a loud noise damages my ears or something gets in my eyes.

  6. Brandon December 8, 2010 at 11:37 pm #

    I liked Rapunzel barefoot.

  7. LO_raine November 28, 2010 at 9:03 pm #

    Loved the film. By far my favorite Disney princess film in a long time. Definitely better than The Princess and the Frog. Mandy Moore was a perfect fit for Rapunzel. I also like the fact that even though she was torn away from her family, no parent was killed off in this film. This film is definitely one we will be buying on Blu Ray. I really didn't see the need for the 3D although my daughter enjoyed it quite a bit. The story is charming and we walked out of the theater smiling.

    And regarding the bare feet – my nine year old who has incredibly sensitive feet from never having walked also thought it was strange that Rapunzel didn't hurt her feet while running through the forest. And it is not realistic that her feet wouldn't get hurt while running on the ground in the forest – she spent her life locked in a spotless tower with no rocks, thorns, or sticks to step on. It was just a comment from the reviewer. I doubt it was an attack on your barefoot lifestyle…

    • Carrie Ann November 29, 2010 at 2:03 am #

      Of course not 🙂 I didn't mean to sound offended… But, like I said, shoes weaken the skin of the feet when worn long term.we are not born with weak feet at all. Like I said too, my son, on his very first experience outdoors with bare feet, could RUN across very rough, sharp gravel and wood chips without any pain. So the movie is indeed realistic. Rapunzel was not a baby, of course, but the point is she never wore shoes at all, therefore never weakened her feet…

      • RickSwift November 29, 2010 at 9:15 am #

        Carrie Ann, I myself run around barefoot quite a bit, being from sandy South Florida – I was just amused by what you focused on. We always appreciate any comments to our review. Cheers -Swift

    • BFrank November 29, 2010 at 10:42 am #

      I think the real issue is not whether it was realistic or not in the movie for Rapunzel to be comfortably running around barefoot. Realistically speaking, never having worn shoes, her feet would have undoubtedly been much stronger and tougher than the average person who was used to wearing shoes, regardless of her having been locked in a tower for a long time. So I doubt, realistically, that wanting or needing shoes would have even occurred to her just because she left the tower. But, regardless of anyone's opinion on that issue, is this movie supposed to be realistic? It's a FAIRY TALE, with magic, and all that. With all the other stuff that could never happen in real life going on, it just seems odd that the reviewer would make an issue over her being barefoot.

  8. RickSwift November 28, 2010 at 8:23 pm #

    Gotta say, this is by far the weirdest string of comments we have gotten on iratefilms to date.

  9. BFrank November 28, 2010 at 6:33 pm #

    I agree with Carrie Ann's comment. What's really puzzling about this review is why someone would see the fact that Rapunzel was always barefoot as being some kind of a negative. It's actually pretty realistic, since she spent her whole life locked in a tower, why would she have ever needed shoes? And therefore, her feet obviously developed natural and strong as she got older without having been weakened by a life of shoe wearing. Her feet WOULD HAVE been "killing her" if someone had forced her to put on shoes, which she obviously was not used to. Disney should be applauded for including that much realism in a wonderful animated story.

  10. Carrie Ann November 28, 2010 at 3:16 pm #

    What is wrong with being barefoot? It is very realistic to say that she was not in pain at all since she is presumably a life long barefooter. She has never worn shoes. Going barefoot is only painful when you have weakened your feet by wearing shoes for years. I would know. I am a barefooter. My son, when he started walking, was allowed to roam about shoe free yes, OUTSIDE; he would toddle off over rough gravel paths without so much as a whimper. Our feet are quite durable from birth, it is shoes that cause all the problems.

    http://www.barefooters.org

    • H-Man November 28, 2010 at 7:54 pm #

      I think the point Madison might have been making with the barefoot complaint is that she couldn't really think of anything that she didn't like about the movie, so she picked something completely trivial to criticize in order to emphasize the point that she thought the film had no flaws whatsoever. Of course I can't speak for Madison, but I think that's what she's doing.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Tangled | I Rate Films -- Topsy.com - November 28, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Rick Swift and Rick Swift, Lord Bronco. Lord Bronco said: RT @rickswift: #Tangled has gotten the weirdest comments of any review we have done to date. http://bit.ly/fUADmz What say you? Barefoot? […]

Leave a Reply

Powered by Wordpress. Designed by Amadarwin with Woo Canvas